The LGBTQ Literary Preserve

There are presently no open calls for submissions.

The LGBTQ Literary Preserve  mission is to preserve & promote LGBTQ literature & culture.

Audre Lorde & Frank O'Hara Prize for Poetry - David Kirby, Judge

C.F. Borgman Fiction Book Award - Andrea Krauss, Judge

Sheila Ortiz Taylor Chapbook Competition - Jeff G. Peters, Judge

  • Seeking poetry or short fiction from any person identifying as LGBTQ

  • Poems or stories previously published in journals and anthologies should be accompanied by an acknowledgments page. Authors may submit multiple manuscripts; each will require a reading fee. Previously submitted manuscripts and manuscripts under consideration by other publishers are also eligible. Please notify us as soon as possible, should your manuscript be accepted by another press.

    Contest results are published in Poets & Writers, The Writers' Chronicle, New Pages, and other national magazines. The winning book is published about one year after its selection.

  • The LGBTQ Literary Preserve & Oia Arts Press subscribes to the principles laid out in the Contest Code of Ethics adopted by the Council of Literary magazines and Presses (CLMP):

    • CLMP Contest Ethics Code

      CLMP's community of independent literary publishers believes that ethical contests serve our shared goal: to connect writers and readers by publishing exceptional writing. We believe that intent to act ethically, clarity of guidelines, and transparency of process form the foundation of an ethical contest. To that end, we agree to:

       1) conduct our contests as ethically as possible and to address any unethical behavior on the part of our readers, judges, or editors.

       2) provide clear and specific contest guidelines—defining conflict of interest for all parties involved.

       3) make the mechanics of our selection process available to the public. This Code recognizes that different contest models produce different results, but that each model can be run ethically.